Tags

, , , , , ,

Since we’re now in early August and I haven’t posted in over a month, I think it’s safe to say Food, Yarn and Film is on summer hiatus. That’s not to say I haven’t been making great food, knitting great stuff or watching great movies, I just haven’t had the time to write about them. And August won’t be any better, since we’re going on holidays.

Homegrown radishesI made a really tasty vegan mushroom risotto yesterday, and my husband and I planted our first vegetable garden this year. We’ve had some tasty beans, peas, lettuce, radishes and spinach, and we’re expecting some peppers, tomatoes and sweet corn in the next few weeks.

I had another Bette Davis day last weekend and finally saw The Petrified Forest (1936) and The Virgin Queen (1955). The Petrified Forest was excellent – Bette is marvelous in this, and it was exciting to see her and Lesley Howard together again after Of Human Bondage (1934), in very different roles from that film. This was also the break-out role for Humphrey Bogart, and he does a marvelous job as the cold criminal Duke Mantee. While Edward G. Robinson generally played likable gangsters, Bogart is chilling.

The Virgin Queen, on the other hand, was disappointing. I guess I just don’t like Bette Davis as Queen Elizabeth. Her performance in this one is better than in The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex (1939), which I discussed in this post, and Davis certainly dominates every scene, but it’s just not what I was hoping for. Maybe it’s the script, rather than the acting. This film covers essentially the same ground as Elizabeth and Essex, which makes me wonder why Davis would agree to take on such a similar role 16 years after the first time.

Since I’ve covered food and film, I might as well throw in some yarn too. I finally finished this project, for some friends who are having their first baby later this month:

I only meant to write a quick post about why I haven’t been blogging lately, and lo and behold it turns into a full blog post. Enjoy the month of August. I’ll be back in September!

